Player A reaches 1st on and error. Next batter (player B) hits a double and player A scores. The run is unearned but does player B get an RBI?
Because in order for it to be considered an earned run, it must be the result of pitching, not fielding, a hit, sac fly, walk, balk wild pitch etc. A defensive error, even commited by the pitcher, is not a pitching mistake.Good topic, here is another question which I cannot get my head around.
If a pitcher commits an error that leads to run/runs, why are the runs still unearned? It was the pitcher's fault!
If there is a runner on first and third with none out, the batter hits into a 6/4/3 double play and the runner on third scores, it's a RBI.The error has no impact on if there is an RBI or not
I know if it is a ground out double play there is no RBI
If it is another type of double play, ie fly out and guy thrown out, i am pretty sure there is a RBI
Your right, thats the only way that could happenIf the third out is not a force play, a runner can score before the tag is put on that 3rd out and it counts.
No, it's not.If there is a runner on first and third with none out, the batter hits into a 6/4/3 double play and the runner on third scores, it's a RBI.
If there is a runner on first and third with none out, the batter hits into a 6/4/3 double play and the runner on third scores, it's a RBI.
I agree with Costanza. I do not think the RBI counts when a double play is turned.No, it's not.
The batter does not get credit for an RBI when a runner scores, when the batter grounds into a double play.
Oh-oh, here we go.Who's on first?![]()
And you would be correct.I agree with Costanza. I do not think the RBI counts when a double play is turned.
The ball can land anywhere in the infield (before 1st or 3rd base, and if goes into foul territory, and is touched by a fielder in foul territory, it is a foul ball, if the ball comes back into fair territory without being touched by a player, it is fair.The pitching rubber is not considered to be part of the playing field if struck by a ball on the fly. If a ball hits the rubber, but no other part of the mound, and if the ball bounces into foul territory without first landing in fair territory, it is a foul ball.
If a ball hits the pitcher in the head, and ricochets into foul territory without touching the ground in fair territory, it is a ground rule double.
Good one, lol.Remember, I used to be The Assistant to The Travelling Secretary for the New York Yankees, and I taught Danny Tartabull how to improve his hitting stroke.
(f) Any fair ball which, either before or after touching the ground, passes through or under a fence, or through or under a scoreboard, or through any opening in the fence or scoreboard, or through or under shrubbery, or vines on the fence, or which sticks in a fence or scoreboard, in which case the batter and the runners shall be entitled to two bases;The pitching rubber is not considered to be part of the playing field if struck by a ball on the fly. If a ball hits the rubber, but no other part of the mound, and if the ball bounces into foul territory without first landing in fair territory, it is a foul ball.
If a ball hits the pitcher in the head, and ricochets into foul territory without touching the ground in fair territory, it is a ground rule double.
Yes, you are correct, my explanation was insufficiently complete. I had meant to say that the ball had ricocheted out of play after hitting the pitcher, (also applicable to another player in fair territory). Thanks for clarifying that.Simply bouncing off the pitcher and into foul territory does not make it a ground rule double, it simply means the ball is in play... if the ball continues on and gets stuck under a fence, into the dugout etc, then it becomes a ground rule double.