Allegra Escorts Collective

Baseball scoring

gcostanza

Well-known member
Jul 24, 2010
7,817
529
113
Yes.
 

profan69

New member
Jan 7, 2006
25
0
1
The error has no impact on if there is an RBI or not

I know if it is a ground out double play there is no RBI
If it is another type of double play, ie fly out and guy thrown out, i am pretty sure there is a RBI
 

bobistheowl

New member
Jul 12, 2003
4,403
4
0
Toronto
Neither a sacrifice bunt nor a sacrifice fly count as an at bat, but a ground ball out that scores a run counts as an at bat. For the purposes of a consecutive game hitting streak, The streak continues if the batter has no at bats, except if one or more of his plate appearances were sacrifice flies.

Reaching base due to a fielder's error counts as an at bat, unless the error is catcher's interference, or some other uncommon catchers' errors, such as touching the ball with his mask.

If at batter reaches first on a strikeout, (due to a wild pitch or passed ball), it's considered to be an at bat. With reference to the strikeout, if he reached base on a wild pitch, it would have no effect on determining if his potential run would be earned, for the pitcher's ERA, but if he reached on a passed ball, the determination of earned runs would be based on the assumption that the batter had been out.
 

the_big_E

New member
Feb 28, 2003
3,439
1
0
The Hammer
Good topic, here is another question which I cannot get my head around.

If a pitcher commits an error that leads to run/runs, why are the runs still unearned? It was the pitcher's fault!
 

Mervyn

New member
Dec 23, 2005
3,549
0
0
Good topic, here is another question which I cannot get my head around.

If a pitcher commits an error that leads to run/runs, why are the runs still unearned? It was the pitcher's fault!
Because in order for it to be considered an earned run, it must be the result of pitching, not fielding, a hit, sac fly, walk, balk wild pitch etc. A defensive error, even commited by the pitcher, is not a pitching mistake.

Once the pitch is thrown, a pitcher is treated no differently from any other fielder in respect to earned runs and errors.
 

kirmit129

Member
Sep 30, 2004
592
0
16
I remember many years ago, there was a 3rd out but a runner managed to score and the run counted. I do not remember how. Anyone know how a run can score on a 3rd out?
 

shack

Nitpicker Extraordinaire
Oct 2, 2001
53,935
11,810
113
Toronto
If the third out is not a force play, a runner can score before the tag is put on that 3rd out and it counts.
 

2canchew

Banned
May 1, 2008
779
0
0
far,far,away
The error has no impact on if there is an RBI or not

I know if it is a ground out double play there is no RBI
If it is another type of double play, ie fly out and guy thrown out, i am pretty sure there is a RBI
If there is a runner on first and third with none out, the batter hits into a 6/4/3 double play and the runner on third scores, it's a RBI.
 

gcostanza

Well-known member
Jul 24, 2010
7,817
529
113
If there is a runner on first and third with none out, the batter hits into a 6/4/3 double play and the runner on third scores, it's a RBI.
No, it's not.

The batter does not get credit for an RBI when a runner scores, when the batter grounds into a double play.
 

Ironhead

Son of the First Nation
Sep 13, 2008
7,014
0
36

gcostanza

Well-known member
Jul 24, 2010
7,817
529
113
I agree with Costanza. I do not think the RBI counts when a double play is turned.
And you would be correct.

Remember, I used to be The Assistant to The Travelling Secretary for the New York Yankees, and I taught Danny Tartabull how to improve his hitting stroke.
 

bobistheowl

New member
Jul 12, 2003
4,403
4
0
Toronto
The pitching rubber is not considered to be part of the playing field if struck by a ball on the fly. If a ball hits the rubber, but no other part of the mound, and if the ball bounces into foul territory without first landing in fair territory, it is a foul ball.

If a ball hits the pitcher in the head, and ricochets into foul territory without touching the ground in fair territory, it is a ground rule double.
 

gcostanza

Well-known member
Jul 24, 2010
7,817
529
113
The pitching rubber is not considered to be part of the playing field if struck by a ball on the fly. If a ball hits the rubber, but no other part of the mound, and if the ball bounces into foul territory without first landing in fair territory, it is a foul ball.

If a ball hits the pitcher in the head, and ricochets into foul territory without touching the ground in fair territory, it is a ground rule double.
The ball can land anywhere in the infield (before 1st or 3rd base, and if goes into foul territory, and is touched by a fielder in foul territory, it is a foul ball, if the ball comes back into fair territory without being touched by a player, it is fair.

Can you post a link documenting the hitting the pitcher in the head scenario ?
Does it have to be his head, or any part of his body ?

My initial opinion (regardless of where a fielder is struck by a ball) is that the ball remains in play, and must be fielded by another defensive player.
 

Mervyn

New member
Dec 23, 2005
3,549
0
0
The pitching rubber is not considered to be part of the playing field if struck by a ball on the fly. If a ball hits the rubber, but no other part of the mound, and if the ball bounces into foul territory without first landing in fair territory, it is a foul ball.

If a ball hits the pitcher in the head, and ricochets into foul territory without touching the ground in fair territory, it is a ground rule double.
(f) Any fair ball which, either before or after touching the ground, passes through or under a fence, or through or under a scoreboard, or through any opening in the fence or scoreboard, or through or under shrubbery, or vines on the fence, or which sticks in a fence or scoreboard, in which case the batter and the runners shall be entitled to two bases;
(g) Any bounding fair ball is deflected by the fielder into the stands, or over or under a fence on fair or foul territory, in which case the batter and all runners shall be entitled to advance two bases;
(h) Any fair fly ball is deflected by the fielder into the stands, or over the fence into foul territory, in which case the batter shall be entitled to advance to second base; but if deflected into the stands or over the fence in fair territory, the batter shall be entitled to a home run. However, should such a fair fly be deflected at a point less than 250 feet from home plate, the batter shall be entitled to two bases only.

Simply bouncing off the pitcher and into foul territory does not make it a ground rule double, it simply means the ball is in play... if the ball continues on and gets stuck under a fence, into the dugout etc, then it becomes a ground rule double.
 

bobistheowl

New member
Jul 12, 2003
4,403
4
0
Toronto
Simply bouncing off the pitcher and into foul territory does not make it a ground rule double, it simply means the ball is in play... if the ball continues on and gets stuck under a fence, into the dugout etc, then it becomes a ground rule double.
Yes, you are correct, my explanation was insufficiently complete. I had meant to say that the ball had ricocheted out of play after hitting the pitcher, (also applicable to another player in fair territory). Thanks for clarifying that.

@gcostanza: This will clarify your question to me, as well. I just used the pitcher's head as an example because the ball would be more likely to bounce into foul ground that way, as opposed to if it had hit his foot, or his stomach. To the casual fan, one would think that it should be a foul ball instead of a ball in play.

Thanks, Mervyn.

For runners who want to advance on a fly ball, (fair or foul), they can start to run as soon as the fielder touches the ball; they don't have to wait until it is caught. Otherwise, the fielder could 'juggle' the ball, keeping it in the air, and advance until he is close enough that he could throw out the baserunner. If the fly ball is in foul territory, however, the fielder has the option of not catching the ball, which might prevent a run from scoring, (ie: if an outfielder touches a fly ball in foul ground, a runner can try to advance only if the ball is subsequently caught, but he can start to run when the ball is touched).
 

Perry Mason

Well-known member
Aug 20, 2001
4,680
208
63
Here
OK, here's an old one:

What is the maximum number of hits that a team can get in an inning without scoring a run?

No fair using the search function!

Perry
 
Ashley Madison
Toronto Escorts